Swiss chard with Julianne Beets


Swiss chard with Julianne Beets

Due to a mistake at the nursery where I purchased my beets that I planted I got what looks to be a golden beet instead of the typical red one.  This lighter color beet is more of a mild flavor and is very good raw in a salad.  So I thought I would sauteed some and see what happens.  I was pleasantly surprised.

 

Ingredients:

8 stocks Swiss chard, ribs removed, chopped

1 medium golden beet, peeled and julienne

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

 Directions:

Heat the oil in a large skillet and add the beets.  Cook for a couple of minutes.  Add the Swiss chard and cook till wilted.  Season with salt and pepper and serve.

5 thoughts on “Swiss chard with Julianne Beets

    • Thanks, I keep experimenting with the beets with happy results. I only have a few more plants to pick from the garden before they are all gone. Time to start thinking about what else to plant.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Our Weekly Menu 6/17/12 « What to Cook?

  2. Pingback: Our Weekly Menu 8/4/12 « What to Cook?

  3. Pingback: Our Weekly Menu 2/3/13 « What to Cook?

Get involved, leave a comment about anything you have read here. Love to hear from you all.

