Purple Mash


Purple Mash

I like making roasted potatoes using both white and purple potatoes and the presentation they make are great.  So I was thinking, why not make a purple mashed potatoes?  So I decided to give it a try, I combined 6 small white potatoes with 4 purple potatoes and made mashed potatoes just as you would normally made them.  The results were less purple than I was hoping for and when I make this again I think I will use a ratio of 6 purple to 4 white potatoes.  My creation came out lighter blue/grey.  They may not look pretty but they sure did taste good.  There is nothing wrong with experimenting.  Happy creating.

Ingredients:

White potatoes, peeled and halved

Purple potatoes, peeled and halved

Pepper

Butter

¾ cup of milk

Directions:

Boil the potatoes until they are tender.  Drain the potatoes into a colander and return the potatoes to the pan.  Put the pan back on the stove on very low heat for a couple of minutes to evaporate any left over water.  Add the butter and mash to the consistency you like.  Add milk, pepper and stir.  Top with butter.

13 thoughts on “Purple Mash

    • The color wasn’t as purple as I was looking for but they tasted great. The purple potato tastes the same as the white. I was just going for a surprise color. Next time I will adjust the ratio and I may add some pureed blueberries to enhance the color.

      Like

  1. We got blue potatoes (that’s what they call them here in the UK) last October at a food festival. We had them boiled and also mashed, without adding white potatoes. They came out that same blueish gray color as yours, maybe a little darker. But they were really good; had a really intense potato flavor.

    Like

  2. The look of your mash remembered me of Andina Restaurant, in Portland. They had wonderful food, and one of their dishes included a purple mash! It was wonderful! I hope some day I find purple potatoes here and be able to reproduce your recipe!!

    Like

    • They are fun to cook with because they taste the same as the white. I will experiment more to see if I can get a brighter color. I will let everyone know what I find out.

      Like

    • I have more experimenting to do, I’m still trying to get a brighter color. I thought of adding some blueberry puree to the mash. I will let you know how that comes out.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Our Weekly Menu 3/25/12 « What to Cook?

  4. I have never heard of purple mash my entire life. Where have I been? You’ve got it right. It may not look pretty, but it sure tastes good. My problem is my food is usually prettier than it tastes. I’d rather have it your way!

    Like

    • Not true, I have tried some of your recipes and they looked and tasted good. We are our worst critics, I am the same. Glad you enjoyed the purple mash. I am experimenting with it the next time I can get the purple potatoes.

      Like

  5. Pingback: 7 X 7 Link Award « What to Cook?

Get involved, leave a comment about anything you have read here. Love to hear from you all.

