Burgers with Vegetables and Brown Rice


Burgers with Vegetables and Brown Rice

Yesterday, being Monday, I wanted to prepare an easy meal.  What is simpler that a grilled burger.  I did want to grill my burgers but to my surprise, sure, I was out of propane and really didn’t feel like going out to get any.  So, I cooked mine on the stove top.  I also know that I am using a lot of zucchini and yellow squash of late.  This is because this is what looks good at the store.  When the season changes I look forward to more variety.

Ingredients:

4 Burgers, I used 85% burger

1 cup Brown rice

2 cups Chicken stock

Olive oil

1 tbsp. Butter

1 Zucchini, chopped

1 Yellow squash, chopped

½ Shallot, chopped

2 Green onions, chopped

Salt and pepper

Directions:

In a medium sauce pan bring the chicken stock to a boil and then add the brown rice, reduce the heat to simmer and cover.  Rice is done when tender.

Grill the burgers to your desired temperature, season with salt and pepper.

Heat 1 tbsp. of oil and the butter in a skillet.  Add the shallot and cook for 30 seconds.  Add the zucchini and squash and cook until tender but not mushy.

To serve, place brown rice on the plate, place the vegetables on top of the rice and rest the burger on top of the rice and vegetables.  Top with green onion.

Get involved, leave a comment about anything you have read here. Love to hear from you all.

